Christmas Cookies, complete with a video demo of how to smash candy canes

I made three types of cookies this year for Christmas (the actual holiday, not including the sugar cookies from a few weeks ago).

I made a huuge batch of chocolate peppermint cream bars (the recipe can be found here). They are a definite holiday crowd pleaser.

I began making Crunchy Toffee from my zine, Vegan Candyland, but let the toffee part cook a little bit too long and the sugar crystallized, which is no good. So I proceeded with the recipe and thought of how I could revamp the fudged up toffee. I was making the chocolate peppermint cream bars right afterward, so I made extra bottom layer dough and baked it in an 8×4-inch bread pan. When it came out of the oven, I crumbled up the toffee and stuck it atop the fudgy brownie layer!

Candy Cane Chocolate Chip Cookies
(recipe below)

Peppermint Candy Cane Chocolate Chip Cookies 

Makes 2 dozen 


These incredibly chewy peppermint flavored cookies are scattered with chocolate chips and studded with bits of crushed candy canes. They are the perfect holiday cookie, but certainly can be enjoyed any time of year. The simplest way to crush the candy cane is in a plastic baggy with a pestle. These cookies don’t really brown, so don’t worry if they look under baked when you take them out of the oven. Plus, the red candy canes and the paleness of the cookies look festive! 


1/2 cup canola oil 

1 1/2 cups sugar

1/2 cup soy milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract 

3/4 teaspoon peppermint extract 


3 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking powder 

1/4 teaspoon salt

8 candy canes, crushed (yields about 1/2 cup) 

2/3 cup chocolate chips



Preheat oven to 350°F.


In a large bowl, stir together the canola oil, sugar, soy milk, vanilla, and peppermint extract.


Sift in the flour, baking powder, and salt. Stir in the candy canes and chocolate chips. Add a splash of soy milk if the dough is dry or won’t hold together. 

Drop by spoonfuls, about two tablespoons each, onto a parchment lined cookie sheet and flatten. The parchment is very important because if not used, the candy canes will melt and harden on the cookie sheet. You’ll spend hours scraping it off, then eventually go crazy from all the scraping. Use parchment! Bake for 8-10 minutes until golden around the edges and firm in the middle. Take out of the oven and immediately transfer to a wire cooling rack very carefully.

I made a little video of how to crush candy canes the badass way!

11 thoughts on “Christmas Cookies, complete with a video demo of how to smash candy canes

  1. Pingback: Twitted by chocolatechow

  2. Oh my goodness, those Candy Cane cookies are sensational. I love them, and you for publishing it. My husband is going to wet his pants when he tastes these! I’m guessing he will be buying your book for my Chrissie present this year (it’s on my wishlist). Thanks!

  3. These cookies are fabulous. My only comment/question is that they were not even close to done at 8 or even 10 minutes. I finally pulled them after 14 and when I make my next batch this week for another party, I will probably leave them in for 16 minutes. Kelly, were you using a convection oven? Maybe that was the difference. Awesome recipe! Thanks!

  4. Pingback: Christmas 2010: A Success for Veganism « Louzilla Lovegood Letters

  5. Pingback: OBA Cookie Swap | Am I There Yet?

  6. Pingback: Vegan Cookie Recipes

Leave a Reply

