Vegan Bake Sale: Rocky Road Bars and White Cookies

I had the pleasure of testing out a couple of cookie recipes in advance for Carla Kelly’s upcoming cookbook, Quick and Easy Vegan Bake Sale.
After Carla sent me the recipes for her Rocky Road Bars and White Cookies, I got my hands on some Dandies vegan marshmallows and got to work. The rocky road bars are made of a sweet chocolate-y dough with all the add-ins of the favorite ice cream flavor: chocolate, marshmallows, nuts, and cherries. The white cookies are a sweet vanilla-flavored cookie with marshmallows and white chocolate chips. I didn’t have white chocolate, so I upped the amount of marshmallows in the cookies for a sweet and sticky treat.
Both recipes listed a drizzle of ganache as an optional addition. I’m not one to pass up a chocolate-y variation, especially when both recipes I made were calling for it.

Yum! Carla’s book is coming out in January 2011. Check it out on Amazon!:

7 thoughts on “Vegan Bake Sale: Rocky Road Bars and White Cookies

  1. I had the pleasure of testing for this book. As you know Kelly, I am a challenged baker. I had great luck with all of the recipes I tested. Miraculous. I highly recommend trying the car tire cookies. They are a bit of work, but they are possibly the best cookies ever!

  2. Pingback: Recent cooks and bakes « Seitan Beats Your Meat

  3. Pingback: Want to be a vegan test kitchen? « an auckland vegan

Leave a Reply

