Black and White Cookies

Black and White Cookies

I made black and white cookies from Duff Goldman’s recipe after I discovered it on the Ace of Cakes DVD the other day and noticed it would be super duper easy to veganize. And I’m super glad I did because they are awesome!

Black and White Cookies (adapted from this recipe)

1 package dry yeast
1 cup soy milk
1 cup Earth Balance margarine
1 3/4 cups sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon lemon extract
2 1/2 cups cake flour
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
Oil mister or cooking spray

Directions
Add dry yeast to warm or room-temperature milk, let stand for 20 minutes.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Cream the butter and the sugar until light and fluffy.

Slowly add and combine the yeast mixture, and the extracts.

In a separate bowl whisk together the cake flour, all-purpose flour and salt and gradually add them to your mixture. Caution: Do not over mix, but make sure to keep your mixture homogenous.

Prepare a cookie sheet with pan spray and drop heaping spoonfuls of dough 3 to 4 inches apart. Bake until the edges begin to brown, 20 to 25 minutes.

Let cool to room temperature before decorating.

Icings:

Black
1/4 cup chocolate chips
1 tablespoon light corn syrup
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon lemon juice
3/4 cup powdered sugar
2 heaping tablespoons cocoa powder
Water to thin out if necessary

Melt the chocolate chips in a glass bowl. Add the corn syrup, vanilla extract, and lemon juice, and stir. Gradually add the sugar and cocoa powder and water, if needed. The chocolate chips will firm up the mixture if it sits out for a while, so just add a splash of water or soy milk if that happens.

White
1 tablespoon light corn syrup
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon lemon juice
1 1/4 cup powdered sugar
Water to thin out if necessary

Combine the corn syrup, vanilla, and lemon juice in a bowl, then gradually add the powdered sugar. Add water if necessary to thin out the mixture.

Using a “butter” knife or spatula, ice half the cookie with white icing and half with black. Repeat for all cookies and let sit until the icings set (or eat some before they set if you don’t want to wait).

P.S. Did you guys know they make a soy-free Earth Balance now? I saw it at a health food store in Milwaukee today. Good news for vegans (or anyone) who are allergic to soy!

26 thoughts on “Black and White Cookies

  1. I LOVE black and white cookies!! haven’t had one since going vegan, though! this is great news! i didn’t know they had yeast in them…very interesting! will this recipe be going in the book, or will you have one similar to this? it looks fantastic!

  2. I’m not sure about this recipe being in the book ’cause I didn’t include it in the manuscript and testing is all over, but it may be able to make it in there!

  3. oh this little vegan NYer is so happy. I can’t stand walking by all the non-vegan ones! It kills me bc i LOVED them back in the day.

  4. I was really excited to see this recipe and went straight to the kitchen to try it. The results were nothing like what I was hoping for. I am confused by the recipe – I have never seen a black and white cookie recipe that contains yeast (I have since googled more recipes and still find none with yeast in them), and the resulting dough has thick bread-like texture, and is very yeasty tasting. The cookies, dropped as instructed in heaping spoonfuls onto the cookie sheet, did not spread at all and ended up looking like scones; roundish and rough and certainly not flat or icing-spreadable. The cooled cookie itself also tasted more like a (too sweet) scone and nothing like a black and white cookie. I was expecting a light, cake-like cookie base. Instead I will be adding currants to the remaining dough and hoping to pass them off as scones to the family. Has anyone else tried this recipe? I am a seasoned baker, but maybe I did something wrong here…

    • Totally concur that these did not come out well. If you read the comments on the recipe this came from apparently instructions are left out of the written directions. Not awful, but somewhat dough-y lumps.

  5. I just love your blog! Awesome cookies and recipes! I love reading vegan blogs, especially ones from Wisconsin! I’m from Green Bay, currently living in Minneapolis. Always a spot for ‘sconnies in my heart! Be well!

  6. Pingback: Top 10 Tasty Vegan Halloween Treats | TakePart Social Action Network™

  7. Where can I get your recipes? I love that you use everyday ingredients instead of calling for expensive and hard to find one. Hope you get published soon.

  8. YEAH! I LOVE black and white cookies and haven’t had one since I went vegan. I want to have them for my wedding in September as a nod to NYC. We live in Queens but are having our wedding in CT at my parents house and wanted to include something from the Big Apple.

    Any thoughts on how to make them heart shaped? I saw it once in a magazine and thought it was adorable for a wedding. I’m not usually a heart kind of girl but I think it’s cute. How would one go about making them specific shapes?

    Also how many cookies does this recipe make? Thinking of maybe making them myself for the wedding. Crazy…yes but I may just do it!

    • That’s awesome, Erika!

      It would be easy to make them heart-shaped. Just form them into hearts when you put the dough on the sheet, then even out with a heart-shaped cookie cutter or a knife if you need to.

      This recipe should make around 20 cookies.

  9. Pingback: Veganska Black&White Cookies « Vegankockens blogg

  10. Pingback: Hemmagjord vegansk glass « Peppen – en blogg om veganism, yoga och hållbar livsstil.

  11. Pingback: » VeganMoFo: The Addams Family Don’t Eat Off The Sidewalk!

Leave a Reply

