Chicago Vegan Bake Sale for Japan: Sunday, April 3rd at Greenheart

Hey guys!
There are currently vegan bake sales for Japan happening worldwide! Get in on the action! The vegan community is so tight-knit and it’s amazing to see people band together time and time again as a positive force, raising money for aid, and really making a difference. The Worldwide Vegan Bake Sale is also coming up at the end of the month, and it’s a great opportunity to send the proceeds to a charity providing relief to the earthquake victims in Japan. If your city doesn’t have one planned already, get some friends together and make it happen! Here is a list of tips on the website for organizing one.

I’d like to bring attention to the bake sale that is happening this Sunday, April 3rd from 12-5pm at Greenheart at 1911 W Division St in Chicago, THIS WEEKEND. Chicago is actually having TWO vegan bake sales over the next couple weekends to raise money for relief in Japan. In addition to this one. More info can be found on the Facebook page.

If you can volunteer or bake for the sale (or the one on April 10th), add yourself to the Google doc. I will be there from 1 to 4:30-ish, so I hope to see you there!
Here are Jessica Laskaris’ words from the Facebook page:

“I’m organizing a vegan bake sale for Japan, all of the money will go towards a charity in an effort to aid relief for all of the people suffering right now. The one I had last year for Haiti was really successful, and I would like for this one to be as well! I need lots of help to get baked goods made, to have bodies to help out at the bake sale, as well as lots of people spreading the word so that this raise a lot of money. I haven’t decided on a charity yet, I’m leaning towards donating to red cross, but I’m taking suggestions! Please post about this on your facebooks/blogs/twitters/whatever and invite everyone to the bake sale please!

It’ll be Sunday April 3 (also my 21st birthday, so come and celebrate with me by buying delicious cupcakes and cookies and the like!)
12 -5 at Greenheart on Division!
Contact me at jessicalaskaris@gmail.com if you’d like to help bake/volunteer/whatever or if you have questions! I’ll be making a google document to keep track of who’s baking what and all that jazz! Thanks in advance

PS- I might have people selling prints/tshirts for the bakesale to help raise money as well. If you want to design something, lemme know!”

3 thoughts on “Chicago Vegan Bake Sale for Japan: Sunday, April 3rd at Greenheart

  1. Hi there! I attended (and indulged at) the bake sale this past Sunday….MMMMmmm!

    Question: I loved your bunny cookies on a stick. Marla R. pointed me in your direction, and I’m wondering if you could point me in the cookie recipe direction.

    Thanks!!!

    • The recipe is the soft and delicious (or something like that) sugar cookies in my book, with cookie sticks stuck in the dough before baking. Those can be found at any craft store with a baking section.
      I could email you the recipe if you don’t have the book. Let me know!

  2. I absolutely love your blog! I have recently converted to Orthodox Christian, and we fast (usually from animal products) for about 2/3rds of they year. I love to to bake, but its been hard to find yummy cookie recipes.However, I made the chai snickerdoodle cookies today, and fell in vegan-y love:) I’ll defiantly be buying your book Very soon! Keep up the delicious work!

Leave a Reply

