Bake sales and Compassionate Cake

The past month has been very long and very busy, but most of all, very full of baked goods and bake sales! I don’t even know where to begin!


May 4th: Mini Bakery at Milwaukee Institute of Art and Design’s Student Union


I held this sale at my school during finals week. Starting in the fall, I am going to set up a bakery stand monthly or so and sell vegan treats to MIAD students and anyone in the city of Milwaukee who can make it to the Third Ward that day!
I put this sale together in 2 days and baked: Vanilla Cupcakes with Pink Vanilla Frosting, Oreo Cupcakes, Espresso Cupcakes, Chai Spice Cupcakes, Mini Cupcakes, Salted Caramel Cupcakes, Chocolate Russian Cupcakes, Lemon Rosewater Cupcakes, Shirley Temple Cookies, Cinnamon Rolls, Blueberry Streusel Muffins, and two kinds of Snickerdoodles! Phew! When I have more time to prepare, I plan on amping up the display!

The next day was a gallery show at the MIAD Union Erie Street Gallery. I talked more about it in detail on this Seitan Beats Your Meat post, but here’s the cupcakes I made for the show again! Salted Caramel and Mexican Hot Chocolate.

May 14th: Milwaukee Vegan Bake Sale

Unfortunately, I was unable to attend this bake sale, but I dropped off a few baked goods with my friend Stephanie, who runs Milwaukee Vegan Bake Sale.
I made Earl Grey Lavender Tea Cakes…

…and more Salted Caramel (these are getting around lately)!

The Milwaukee Vegan Bake Sale raised $922 for Doctors Without Borders and The Urban Ecology Center! Yay!

May 21st: Cookies4Kids Milwaukee Bake Sale

Cookies4Kids Milwaukee was held to raise money for pediatric cancer. Here’s a great post from Lori of Burp! Blog who organized the bake sale. Over 45 bakers donated, and while the bake sale wasn’t vegan, some local vegan bakers including myself baked for this event so there was a selection of vegan treats at the sale! Bon Jovi was in town that day and only 4 blocks away at the Bradley Center. Despite our massive group of people tweeting at him to come visit, we never heard from Bon Jovi. Even so, $2100 was raised at the end of the day!

Part of the sale, and a vegan section.

The haul I brought home that evening, with special Gnocchi appearance.

While setting up the bake sale, a giant cardboard box was delivered to the sale. Upon opening it, I saw dozens of gorgeous cupcakes inside, each elaborately decorated and neatly packaged. When I looked closer, I saw that they were vegan and immediately got excited (and secretly thought that something so awesome just HAS to be vegan)! These cupcakes are Banana Split, Root Beer Float, Strawberry Balsamic, and Coffee and Donuts, made by Jessica Weisnicht.

I sent a picture to Twitter and everyone showered the cupcakes with compliments. I wondered how I didn’t know this awesome lady yet and decided that we need to be friends.

Meet my new friend Jessica! We met up at the Riverwest Co-op last night to talk cupcakes and for dinner with Stephanie, Lindsay, and Colleen. Jessica of Compassionate Cake does stunning work and I was so glad to see more of it in person and spend several hours talking with her!

Fortune Cookie and Peanut Noodles Cupcakes

The “noodles” are made with peanut butter frosting and the broccoli is fondant with frosting and green-colored non-pareils.

She made all four of us a cake! This is the Napa Valley Chocolate Cake, infused with Merlot and it’s all mine (but I’ll share!). Check out the Facebook page to see the other cakes!

If you need more incentive to come to Mad City Vegan Fest this Sunday, Jessica will be there with cupcakes! Done deal now, right?

The schedule for the festival is posted here. If you’re planning on coming, we’ll see you there!❤

8 thoughts on “Bake sales and Compassionate Cake

  1. YUMM those cupcakes look soo good! I just recently started reading your blog and think it’s so cool you have a published cookbook, especially because we’re the same age and both live in Milwaukee. I can’t wait to read more about you!

    • Oh cool, Molly! It would be great to hang out sometime! I just told my friend Amy that there’s another vegan blogger our age who lives here and she got really excited.

      • awesome! I’m not vegan, but I try not to eat a lot of dairy. I love baking though and have nothing against vegan baked goods!

  2. Thanks Lady! Such nice comments! Not only are you an extremely talented lady you are such a wonderful person! So glad we met and am looking forward to talking with you again! If you ever need a business partner, you know where to find me<3

Leave a Reply

