MoFo #15: Jack and Coke Cake

My friend Megan requested this cake several months back and it’s been in the back of my mind for quite a while. After making whiskey buttercream the other week, I decided whiskey would be more suited with darker, chocolate-y flavors.

I made a cola reduction, utilizing the same method as the grape soda cupcakes and root beer float cake, hoping it would not have the same fate as the root beer. Once it cooled off, I tasted the reduction. It retained most of its flavor, so I used it in the batter. However, the chocolate overpowered it and I ended up supplementing with extract. The cake is frosted with a chocolate whiskey buttercream.

I made this cake specifically for this post and as a tester recipe, and now I, uh, have an entire cake and don’t know what to do with it! What a terrible horrible problem…

3 thoughts on “MoFo #15: Jack and Coke Cake

Leave a Reply

