MoFo #16: Matcha Truffles

This morning I gave myself a pretty nasty cut! I was using kitchen shears to halve brussels sprouts and I knew it was probably not a good idea, but if I thought about being careful, what could go wrong? Well, I immediately stabbed the scissor points into my index finger, sliced through, and was left with a cut about a millimeter or so deep. Then it started bleeding everywhere and I moved the brussels sprouts out of the way because I wasn’t about to eat bloody brussels sprouts, ran it under water, and wrapped it in a paper towel so I didn’t drip blood all the way to the bathroom. I deal with pain just fine, so this was more annoying than anything. My finger is all wrapped up in gauze so it doesn’t spurt all over the place and it’s SO annoying to type with. And finger cramps! I have 4 more MoFo posts to do and lots of other writing. What’s a girl to do?

Well, that was my rant. I hope I don’t have to wear this stupid thing for too long.

But there is something much scarier than sharp objects and blood and guts…

MATCHA! The topic of today’s post. Matcha is a finely ground green tea that can be used in baking to impart flavor and color. I don’t particularly care for green tea, but since I’m working with the drinks theme, I figured I should at least play around with matcha in a few desserts and maybe be pleasantly surprised.

I decided a light, flowery flavor would complement the matcha quite well, so I chose to use lavender. Remember that lavender sugar? Earthy green tea and flowery lavender are paired with dark chocolate here.

I started by steeping the lavender and matcha together in water, and a few things came to mind: pond scum, seaweed, moss, sludge…

This imagery was not convincing me that matcha is delicious. Maybe my aversion is unprecedented, but this didn’t seem like it was supposed to mix with sugar or chocolate. I continued making the filling for the truffles and tasted it…green tea flavor. Still unconvinced.

I dipped them in chocolate and sprinkled lavender sugar atop each truffle. It’s 2:30am right now and I’m not really feeling up for a chocolate tasting, so I’ve yet to try the finished product. I definitely will tomorrow and report back. It took me long enough to actually use this stuff. Eep!

4 thoughts on “MoFo #16: Matcha Truffles

  1. Kitchen tip to stop bleeding: put instant, freeze-dried coffee on open cuts to stop bleeding.

    I cut my finger very deeply once when a glass broke in my hand and my mom came to the rescue with instant coffee. I don’t know why it works but it does, plus it doesn’t sting.

Leave a Reply

