Apple cider donuts, upcoming events, and activism

Apple cider donuts, quite possibly the most important part of pumpkin and apple picking in the fall. Deep fried, sugary, apple-y goodness in a pastry. Well, I haven’t gone apple or pumpkin picking in years and haven’t had an apple cider donut in at least 8 years (pre-gan), so I’ve been completely missing out. But I’ve made donuts before, so I decided to take on the challenge of making vegan apple cider donuts! After some research, I completely revamped this very poorly written Food Network recipe. See, I have a bad habit of not reading recipe instructions. I just look at the ingredient list and throw the ingredients in a bowl using my best judgment. I definitely should’ve read this recipe more carefully because it does things like combining the cinnamon for the dough and cinnamon sugar coating into one amount, so I put all 2 1/2 teaspoons in the dough right away, which wasn’t supposed to happen. I removed as much cinnamon as I could, but it still was more than the recipe called for. But guess what? I really like cinnamon, and the extra cinnamon in this dough was AWESOME. Joke’s on you, recipe!

This is a variation on the original recipe: apple cider cranberry donut holes, made them as a dessert for Thanksgiving! I blogged the entire feast over on Seitan Beats Your Meat.

Upcoming Events

This Saturday, December 3rd is the 4th bi-annual Milwaukee Vegan Bake Sale and there is still time to sign up to bake! And you can RSVP on Facebook! Give us your money, baked goods, and/or attendance! The proceeds will benefit the Urban Ecology Center and Milwaukee Animal Rescue Center.

Please spread the word! Tweet, Facebook, Google+, and blog about it! Please and thank you!

Not surprisingly, bake sales are my favorite form of activism, hands down. They are a great way to bring a community together, show off your baking skills, make deep-fried sprinkled-coated delicacies in the name of veganism, and raise money for a cause in a positive way. While I truly respect those out protesting and leafletting on the streets, I prefer to take a behind the scenes, non-confrontational approach to activism. Winning over curious omnivores with cupcakes, cookies, donuts, and candy is one of my favorite things to do, so I participate in bake sales whenever possible.

If you’d like to start a bake sale of your own or get involved in food activism, these are a few of my go-to resources: The Vegan Girl’s Guide to Bake Sales by my friend Melisser Elliott, Worldwide Vegan Bake Sale tips, and Let the Donut Do the Talking (pdf), a talk by Jasmin Singer and Mariann Sullivan.

On a similar note, I recently published an article on One Green Planet called Social Media as Positive Activism. Two things inspired me to write this article: I’m sick of seeing pictures of dead, mutilated animals posted on Facebook by vegans and I’m even more sick of charities and fundraisers struggling to meet their goal. Twitter, Facebook, blogs, and other social media sites can be powerful tools for activists if used properly, so this article is all about using these networks in a positive manner and reviewing all the ways you can contribute to a cause when opening your wallet isn’t an option!
And I also made this picture of Gnocchi pretending to type as the featured image, so I automatically win at life. Or Gnocchi does. Yeah, probably Gnocchi. But anyway, go read my article. Thanks!

Finally, another Milwaukee event. Photographer Jessica Kaminski will be hosting an art sale on Sunday, December 11th and I’ll be baking for it! Check out the Facebook event here. Come buy some prints and other gifts, and sample baked goods!

3 thoughts on “Apple cider donuts, upcoming events, and activism

  1. Oh, I made your apple cider glazed cookies last night! My 8 yr old conned me into giving her one before bed so she could “check it” before I put them in her lunch today. She loved them, and so did the rest of the family!

  2. Hi Kelly,

    I came across your apple cider donuts and was looking for the recipe that you used. I noticed that you posted the Food Network’s recipe, but I know that you changed that around a bit. Would you mind sharing your recipe??? A good friend of mine is vegan, and I’ve never attempted to make anything w/o dairy, so I’d love to give this a try!

    Thanks,

    Jillian

Leave a Reply

