Piña Colada Tres Leches Cake

It’s, like, a heatwave. Burning in my heart.

I’m staying near Chicago most of the summer for an internship in the city during the week, and access to a full kitchen and people to eat lots and lots of dessert the rest of the time. The temperature has been hovering around 105°F for the past week, and it’s deliciously humid, so this weather is perfect for basking on the couch in a house with central air, watching TV, and making summery treats. A few steps outside is more than enough to reverse any showering attempts. It’s a tropical paradise.

So, I’ve decided to live vicariously through cake. Piña Colada Tres Leches Cake, a sturdy vanilla coconut cake drenched in “tres leches” cream syrup, and topped with chopped pineapple and whipped coconut cream.

This “beach” may just be a slightly overexposed crispy yellow lawn with an over-saturated blue-tinted bike path in the distance, and I may have burned my bare feet on the deck while sweating all over my camera during this photoshoot in my pajamas. But I’m going to pretend I took this photo at a fabulous beach party in a temperate climate while lounging out eating cake and fruit salad. Then splashing around in the ocean, because that’s way more fun than laying out in the sun, anyway. Life’s a beach.

Lastly, I made a Pinterest! If you like food, art, photography, food styling, and internet comics, follow me. Let’s be friends!

Follow Me on Pinterest

2 thoughts on “Piña Colada Tres Leches Cake

  1. That cake looks and sounds amazing & the set up of the picture is beautiful. It’s making me wish England was actually having summer this year!

Leave a Reply

