Very British [recipe]

Jammy Dodgers

This classic British cookie has gone vegan!
Jammy Dodgers

Jammy Dodgers

English Toffee Squares

These are veganized from an old family recipe!
English Toffee Squares

English Toffee Squares

Makes 25 squares

1 cup margarine
1 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups flour

1 cup chocolate chips
2/3 cup chopped nuts (almonds, walnuts, or a mixture)

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Cream together the margarine and brown sugar with electric beaters. Add the vanilla.
Gradually sift in the flour and stir until incorporated.

Press dough into an 8×8-inch* nonstick (or lined with parchment) baking pan and bake for about 15 minutes until firm and golden. Don’t take them out too early or they won’t get crispy and toffee-like.

Remove from oven and uniformly sprinkle the chocolate chips in the pan. Return to the oven for about 30 seconds so the chocolate is melty and spreadable. Using a knife, spread the chocolate evenly over the cookie layer. Sprinkle with the nuts, then let cool (the fridge or freezer helps with this if you’re in a hurry) so the chocolate firms up. Cut into 25 squares and transfer to a cooling rack. Enjoy!

*This recipe can be halved and baked in a 8×4-inch loaf pan.

14 thoughts on “Very British [recipe]

  1. Pingback: CHICKENEN CHILADAS » Very British [<b>recipe</b>]

  2. Those cookies are completely adorable! In fact, they remind me of a muffin recipe that I’ve been dying to make from one of my new cookbooks…

    The toffee squares sound delicious, too. I LOVE toffee, which means that I can’t wait to try these. Thanks!

  3. Gosh, I would love the recipe for the jammie dodgers! I used to live in England and they were my absolute favourite sweet thing, but I’ve since moved overseas, which is when I turned vegan so I feel I was robbed of my last chance to have these! =) i’m going to try out the toffee squares, too! ^_^

  4. Pingback: English Toffee Squares « Second City Vegan

  5. Pingback: Holiday Toffee Bars « Two Cheap Vegans

  6. Pingback: Holiday Toffee Bars « we heart vegan

  7. Pingback: cigarettes sale - buy online smokes

  8. What i do not understood is in reality how you are no longer really much more neatly-liked than you might be right now. You are very intelligent. You recognize therefore significantly in the case of this matter, produced me in my opinion consider it from a lot of numerous angles. Its like men and women don’t seem to be involved until it’s one thing to accomplish with Woman gaga! Your personal stuffs excellent. All the time take care of it up!

Leave a comment