I give you my heart and a [recipe]

I had a small amount of chocolate chips remaining in the bag and decided to make a little batch of cookies to use them up. These are my basic go-to chocolate chip cookie recipe. I just shaped the dough into hearts before baking.

Bakery Style Crispy Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies (with A Hint of Maple)

Makes about 12 large or 25 normal-sized cookies

Make these cookies BIG like those giant chocolate chip cookies you can find at bakeries. As their name suggests, these cookies have a chewy center contained within perfectly crispy edges. The maple syrup adds a little something to these, but the maple flavor is very subtle, if noticeable at all. The key to getting the chips evenly distributed and stuck in the dough is to use your hands! It makes all the difference. All in all, these cookies are ridiculously easy to make.

2/3 cup canola oil
3/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup maple syrup
2 tablespoons applesauce
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375°F.

Stir together the oil, sugar, syrup, applesauce and vanilla in a medium-sized bowl.

Add in flour, baking soda, and salt (no need to sift!). Stir in chocolate chips. If the chips don’t want to stick to the batter, use your hands! If the dough is a little dry, gradually add a small amount of soy milk, maybe a couple teaspoons, until it holds together.

Drop by large spoonfuls, 3-4 tablespoons each, onto a cookie sheet and slightly flatten. Bake for about 10 minutes or until the edges are golden brown.

34 thoughts on “I give you my heart and a [recipe]

  1. OMG!!! i just happen upon your blog while bored tonight, saw this recipe, and noticed that i to only had like 1/2 a bag of chocolate chips left. and even though i love my go to chocolate chip cookie recipe, i just wasnt in the mood to make them. but the mention of maple syrup made me have to try these out. you are right, they were super easy to make, and im already eating one right now…. SOOOOO GOOOOD!!! thats so much for sharing and i do hope you publish a book soon, all of your pictures make my mouth water. ~amber 🙂

  2. oh my gosh these vegan cookies were a huge hit!!! they are the best cookies i have ever made. although i slightly tweaked the recipe….i used 2/3 cup vegan margarine instead of oil, added 2/3 cup brown sugar in the sugar cream mix, and about a tbsp of ground cinnamon. yum!!

  3. Laurel-I wish I knew! I’ve been trying to get a book deal for quite a while, but no success yet! Hopefully soon!

  4. Pingback: Writing the Ridiculous

  5. WOW WOW WOW!
    I did sub dairy free margarine for these cookies but they came out AMAZING! seriously the best cookies I have ever made. Everyone raves about them where ever I take them.
    I have probably made 15 batches in the past 2 weeks!
    I am vegan because of my son’s allergies and I am breastfeeding.
    I miss all my favorites but I dont think I’ll EVER make “normal” chocolate chip cookies again.
    THANK YOU!!
    Wish you had more recipes on here.. 😦

  6. These are amazingly good! I did need (as the recipe said) to add a little bit of milk (maybe 2 tbl) since the dough was a little dry, but this is now my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe! Very easy to make! Thank you!

  7. Pingback: Sunflower Solar Cookie Oven

  8. Pingback: My Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies « effyeahveganrecipes

  9. Pingback: Say what you will, I make good cookies. « greetingsfromthefruitcellar

  10. My non-vegan class devoured these. My little sister–who is a harsh judge–said they were the best chocolate chip cookies I’ve made, and I’ve made pretty good ones. Amazing (and easy!) recipe.

  11. Hi! Going to make these tonight for my vegan friend’s birthday tomorrow! Not 100% positive which ingredients are “vegan safe” and if you’ll reply by the time I need to bake them, but figured I’d ask just in case! Going to Whole Foods after class and I know I’m supposed to buy special sugar and flour, but what about the other ingredients? Are chocolate chips and maple syrup safe for example or do I need to buy special ones?

    • Hey Elizabeth,
      Sorry I just saw this! Did everything work out? Maple syrup is always okay for vegans, but you have to check for milk and milk fat in chocolate chips. Some varieties of semisweet chocolate chips are vegan, like Trader Joe’s, Ghirardelli, or Whole Foods brand. Also some store brands are accidentally vegan.

  12. Pingback: Addicted to Baking, Part 2. « Awesome. Vegan. Rad.

  13. Pingback: Vegan Cookie Recipes

  14. Pingback: Vegan Carob Chip Cookies | LesBohemea

  15. Pingback: Les Beehive – Vegan Carob Chip Cookies

Leave a comment