Milwaukee’s Vegan Cookies: Beans and Barley, East Side Ovens (again)

Vegan Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies
The Milwaukee Vegan Meetup group did lunch today at Beans and Barley, so afterward I shopped around a bit in the grocery section and bakery. This was the only kind of vegan cookie they had today, but it was lovely. I liked that it was soft, chewy, fresh, and chocolatey with a hint of peppermint.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies
From East Side Ovens again. I thought this was a chocolate chip cookie (they don’t label them at the student union, so I’ve been guessing!), but it turned out to be peanut butter, which was a nice surprise because it was crispy and I’m not a huge fan of crispy chocolate chip cookies. A lot of their baked goods have a bit of a “healthy” twinge to them, but these and their dumplings are an exception. They’re not super sugary or greasy, so a break from that decadence is good every once in a while.

P.S. I promise I’ll never take photos in my dorm room anymore. The lighting is terrible.

3 thoughts on “Milwaukee’s Vegan Cookies: Beans and Barley, East Side Ovens (again)

  1. Pingback: Beans and Barley meetup and no more photos in the dorm room « Seitan Beats Your Meat

  2. Hi – I’m on an as-yet-fruitless search for the recipe used by Whole Foods for their vegan peanut butter cookies. They’re thin, chewy, and almost caramel-y. Do you know anything about their recipe? I’m so glad I found your website – I’m a lousy baker, but you’ve /really/ inspired me to get out of my comfort zone! Thanks!!

Leave a comment